FOIA Presentation

Learn insights on Arkansas's FOIA and how to become a better journalist by using open records and open meetings laws

2020 ACMA Contest now open

The 2020 Arkansas College Media Association awards contest is now open for entries. Each year the ACMA awards competition attracts student journalists around the state to submit their best work from the 2019 academic year. Registration MUST be postmarked by Feb. 28, 2020, and online submissions for the contest MUST be uploaded no later than …

Featured Presentation: Facebook Training for Journalists

This year's featured presentation at the Arkansas College Media Association's 2020 Spring Convention focuses on Facebook Training for Journalists. Raymond Ruiz is the founder of EGMN (El Gato Media Network), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides career development services for media students and young professionals. When not training young media professionals, he practices communications and digital …

National Federation of Press Women Contest

The NFPW national conference meets June  18-20, 2020, in Little Rock. Wouldn’t it be great to see Arkansas journalists, both professional and student, on the NFPW contest winner’s list? Please consider entering your own work and that of your staff. Contest entry fees vary by state; go here to learn about fees for Arkansans. See …

SPJ Scholarship

The Society of Professional Journalists — Arkansas Pro Chapter Scholarship/Education Committee asks your help in identifying students from your program for two scholarships. Each of the $1,000 scholarships will go to a student enrolled during the 2020-2021 academic year. It will go to a student who is academically qualified, who needs financial aid, and who shows …

2020 Conference Hotel Registration Available

The ACMA 2020/ASU conference will be held Friday, April 3, 8:15 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. in Embassy Suites by Hilton Jonesboro--Red Wolf Convention Center, The hotel is located on the campus of Arkansas State University and has the restaurant Houlihan’s in house.  Guests receive a complimentary breakfast and have access to a complimentary evening …

2019 Results

MAGAZINE || NEWSPAPER || ONLINE || RADIO || TELEVISION || YEARBOOK General Excellence Newspaper of the Year First Place: The Bison, Harding University. Second Place: CBC Tower, Central Baptist College Third Place: The Threefold Advocate, John Brown University Honorable Mention: NWACC Eagle View, NorthWest Arkansas Community College Newspaper Editor of the Year First Place: Melody …

2018 Contest Results

General Excellence Designer of the Year First Place: Carlie Tacker, Petit Jean Yearbook, Harding University. Second Place: Noah Franz, The Threefold Advocate, John Brown University. Magazine Editor of the Year First Place: Hayden Pickens, Editor-in-Chief, Vortex magazine, University of Central Arkansas. Newspaper Editor of the Year First Place: Amber Quaid, The Arka Tech, Arkansas Tech University. Second Place: Katie Kemp, …

Call for Entries: 2017 Diamond Journalism Awards

From SPJ’s Arkansas Pro Chapter

Society of Professional Journalists | Arkansas Pro Chapter

Attention professional and student journalists, it’s time to enter the Diamond Journalism Awards!

Sponsored by the Arkansas Pro Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists, the Diamond Journalism Awards recognize outstanding journalism by professionals and students from Arkansas and bordering media markets in Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas.

Eligible work must have been published or broadcast between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2017.

Entries may be submitted starting May 31 and until 11 p.m. CDT, July 14.

Enter online via the Better BNC Media Awards platform,

For entry rules, contest categories and fee options, go here.

View original post